2020 AgriFutures Rural Women’s Award

agrifutures rural womens award

Nominations for the 2020 AgriFutures Rural Women’s Award are now open.

The award is Australia’s leading award in acknowledging and supporting the essential role women play in rural industries, businesses and communities, providing a platform to inspire and support Australian women to use and develop their skills to benefit their industries and communities.

The 2019 winner for the Northern Territory, Zoe Malone proposed a project that would help grassroots community groups navigate the governance and compliance requirements that can be difficult to manage.

Passionate about the role people and communities play in creating strong and vibrant regions, Zoe has spent most of her life living in rural and regional Australia, with over a decade spent in the Northern Territory.

Each state and territory winner receives a $10,000 bursary from Westpac and continue on to take out the national prize – an additional $10,000 bursary, with $5,000 for the runner-up.

The award is open to all women over the age of 18 involved in rural industries (agriculture, forestry and fisheries), rural and regional businesses and rural and regional communities. No formal qualifications are required and location is no barrier.

Territorian women have until 26 January 2020 to apply. To find out more about the award and how to nominate, go to the AgriFutures website.

The Northern Territory award is coordinated by the Department of Primary Industry and Resources.